2011 British Comedy Awards Nominees

The British Comedy Awards is an annual awards ceremony in the United Kingdom celebrating notable comedians and entertainment performances of the previous year. The nominees for this year’s British Comedy Awards are to be announced tonight.

Shortlists for 12 categories of TV programmes and comedy stars will be revealed, with another four special categories to remain under wraps until the ceremony next Friday.

The only category to have been announced so far is the people’s choice for the King or Queen of Comedy, which is decided by phone vote. In the running for this are David Mitchell, Graham Norton, Jack Whitehall, Jo Brand, Miranda Hart and Sarah Millican.

British comedy award 2011 winner

British comedy award 2011 nominees

Channel 4 will be screening the two-hour show, hosted by Jonathan Ross, live from Fountain Studios in Wembley from 9pm on Friday. It will be followed by an ‘after-show’ broadcast on E4, hosted by Lauren Laverne and Rick Edwards.

A spokesman for the broadcaster said: ‘This year promises to be the comedy world’s official and most glittering Christmas party.’

The nominees will be unveiled on Channel 4 in a 70-minute programme from 10.50pm tonight and published on Chortle immediately afterwards.

); ga('send', 'pageview');