Facts About Sachin Tendulkar’s Centuries

Sachin Tendulkar became the first cricketer to score 100 international centuries during an Asia Cup one-day match against Bangladesh on Friday.

The 38-year-old stroked a single off left-arm spinner Shakib Al Hasan to reach the landmark. He has scored 51 centuries in tests and 49 in one-day internationals.

Tendulkar hit 10 boundaries and one six on the way to his hundred, which he reached off 138 deliveries on an easy-paced pitch at the Sher-e-Bangla National Stadium in Mirpur.

Tendulkar was finally out for 114 off 147 balls, hitting 12 boundaries and a six.

Tendulkar said the achievement had yet to sink in.

“It was a tough phase for me. Specially tough when you know that I started off this season batting reasonably well,” a tired-looking Tendulkar told the NEO Cricket channel.

“I batted well in Australia. I felt at times I was luckless. Doesn’t matter how many hundreds you score, you still have to put your head down, grind it out and do the job for the team.”

It took the greatest accumulator of runs in international cricket more than a year to score his coveted hundred after he reached 99 centuries with his 111 against South Africa in the World Cup in Nagpur on March 12 last year.

“Precisely a year ago when I got my 99th hundred no one spoke about it during the World Cup. And then it was I guess the media who started all these,” Tendulkar added.

“Wherever I went, to restaurant, the house keeping, the room service, whoever I met just spoke about the 100th hundred.

“It became a little difficult mentally, because I am not playing only for my 100th hundred.

“The 99 hundreds that I scored, nobody spoke about them. Everyone had their opinion but eventually I have got to do what is important for the team.”

Sachin Tendulkar's debut test photo

Kapil Dev, Sachin Tendulkar and Mohammad Azharuddin pose for a photo before the tour of Pakistan, November 1989


  • 1973 – Born in Mumbai on 24 April
  • 1989 – Makes Test debut for India against Pakistan
  • 1990 – Scores first Test century, against England
  • 1998 – Scores first double century for Mumbai against Australia
  • 2005 – Passes Sunil Gavaskar’s record of highest number of Test centuries
  • 2008 – Becomes the highest run-scorer in Test cricket, passing West Indies’ Brian Lara’s mark of 11,953
  • 2010 – Becomes the most capped player in Test history
  • 2011 – Hits his 99th international century in a ODI against South Africa in March
  • 2012 – Scores his 100th international century in ODI v Bangladesh

Centuries Records made by Sachin Tendulkar :

  • Sachin Tendulkar became the first cricketer in history to score 100 centuries in International Cricket (Including Test and ODI). Tendulkar scored his 100th century on 16 March 2012 in the Asia Cup against Bangladesh.
  • Highest number of Test centuries(51), overtaking Sunil Gavaskar’s record (34). On October 10, 2010 (Need to verify) in Bengaluru (Bangalore) against Australia in the Border-Gavaskar trophy’s second and final Test match Sachin reached a milestone. With a single to third man, Tendulkar reached his 6th double century and his 49th test century.
Sachin Tendulkar 100th century highlights

Sachin Tendulkar holds up his India helmet after reaching his century, Bangladesh v India, Asia Cup, Mirpur, March 16, 2012

  • Highest number of 150+ score in Test Cricket (20)
  • When Sachin scored his maiden century in 1990, he was the second youngest to score a century. Only Mushtaq Mohammad had scored a century at a younger age by 1990. Tendulkar’s record was bettered by Mohammad Ashraful in 2001/02 season. The record for previous youngest Indian centurion was held by Kapil Dev.
  • Sachin’s record of five centuries before he turned 20 is a current world record.
  • Sachin holds the current record (217 against NZ in 1999/00 Season) for the highest score in Test cricket by an Indian when captaining the side. Gavaskar held the previous record (205 against West Indies in Bombay – 1978/79 season).
  • Sachin has scored centuries against all Test playing nations. He was the third batsman to achieve the distinction after Steve Waugh and Gary Kirsten. The current list also includes Brian Lara, Ricky Ponting, Rahul Dravid, Jacques Kallis, Adam Gilchrist, Marvan Atapattu, Kumar Sangakkara and Mahela Jayawardene.
); ga('send', 'pageview');