Independent Spirit Awards 2012: nominees and winners

The Independent Spirit Awards, art house cinema’s equivalent of the Oscars, on Saturday handed out honors for the best films and performances of 2012 among movies made outside Hollywood’s major studios. Following is a list of winners at the event that is sponsored by Los Angeles-based group, Film Independent.

Independent Spirit Awards 2012 Photo

Independent Spirit Awards 2012

Independent Spirit Awards 2012: Nominees and winners List

Best Feature
(Award given to the Producer)
“Take Shelter”
WINNER: “The Artist”

Best Director

WINNER: Michel Hazanavicius, “The Artist”
Mike Mills, “Beginners”
Jeff Nichols, “Take Shelter”
Alexander Payne, “The Descendants”
Nicolas Winding Refn, “Drive”

Best First Feature
(Award given to the director and producer)
“Another Earth”
“In The Family”
WINNER: “Margin Call”
“Martha Marcy May Marlene”
“Natural Selection”

John Cassavetes Award

(Given to the best feature made for under $500,000; award given to the writer, director, and producer)
“Hello Lonseome”
WINNER: “Pariah”
“The Dynamiter”

Best Screenplay

WINNER: “The Descendants”
“The Artist”

“Win Win”

Best First Screenplay
“Another Earth”
“Cedar Rapids”
WINNER: “50/50”
“Margin Call”

Best Female Lead
Elizabeth Olsen, “Martha Marcy May Marlene”
WINNER: Michelle Williams, “My Week with Marilyn”
Rachael Harris, “Natural Selection”
Adepero Oduye, “Pariah”
Lauren Ambrose, “Think of Me”

Best Male Lead
Michael Shannon, “Take Shelter”
Woody Harrelson, “Rampart”
Ryan Golsing, “Drive”
WINNER: Jean Dujardin, “The Artist”
Demian Bichir, “A Better Life”
Best Supporting Female
Jessica Chastain, “Take Shelter”
Anjelica Huston, “50/50”
Janet McTeer, “Albert Nobbs”
Harmony Santana, “Gone Hill Road”
WINNER: Shailene Woodley, “The Descendants”

Best Supporting Male
Albert Brooks, “Drive”
John Hawkes, “Martha Marcy May Marlene”
WINNER: Christopher Plummer, “Beginners”
Corey Stoll, “Midnight in Paris”
John C. Reilly, “Cedar Rapids”

Best Cinematography

“Midnight in Paris”
WINNER: “The Artist”
“The Off-Hours”
“The Dynamiter”

Best Documentary
(Award given to the director)
“An African Election”
“Bill Cunningham New York”
WINNER: “The Interrupters”
“We Were Here”
“The Redemption of General Butt Naked”

Best Foreign Film
(Award given to the director)
WINNER: “A Separation”
“The Kid With a Bike”

Robert Altman Award
(Given to one film’s director, casting director and its ensemble cast)
“Margin Call”

Piaget Producers Award*
Chad Burris (“Mosquito y Mari”)
WINNER: Sophia Lynn (“Take Shelter”)
Josh Bond (“Martha Marcy May Marlene”)

Someone to Watch Award*
Simon Arthur (“Silver Tongues”)
WINNER: Mark Jackson (“Without”)
Nicholas Ozeki (“Mamitas”)

Truer Than Fiction Award*
WINNER: “Where Soldiers Come From”
“Hell and Back Again”
“Bombay Beach”

*These awards were handed out during a separate ceremony in January.

); ga('send', 'pageview');