UEFA Euro 2012 Prize Money and Trophy

The 2012 UEFA European Football Championship, commonly referred to as Euro 2012, is the 14th European Championship for national football teams organised by UEFA.

The final tournament is being hosted by Poland and Ukraine between 8 June and 1 July 2012. It is the first time that either nation has hosted the tournament. This bid was chosen by UEFA’s Executive Committee in 2007.

UEFA EURO 2012 cup pictures

UEFA EURO 2012 Trophy

The final tournament features 16 nations, A total of €196 million was offered to the 16 teams competing in UEFA EURO 2012 tournament, a increase from the €184 million in the previous tournament.

Each team will receive €8 million in start money and then receive extra money based on their performances:

  • Champions: €7.5 million
  • Runner-up: €4.5 million
  • Reaching the semi-finals: €3 million
  • Reaching the quarter-finals: €2 million
  • Finishing in third place in a group: €1 million
  • Winning a group match: €1 million
  • Drawing a group match: €0.5 million

The UEFA executive committee also decided to award a special official commemorative cap and medal to players who reach 100 appearances for their national team.

The Henri Delaunay Trophy, which is awarded to the winner of the European Football Championship, is named in honour of Henri Delaunay, the first General Secretary of UEFA, who came up with the idea of a European championship but died five years prior to the first tournament in 1960.

); ga('send', 'pageview');