Daylight Saving Time 2012

Daylight Saving Time is here again and in the early morning hours of Sunday the majority of the clocks in the U.S. need to “fall back.”

During late Winter we move our clocks one hour ahead and “lose” an hour during the night and each Fall we move our clocks back one hour and “gain” an extra hour. But Daylight Saving Time (and not Daylight Savings Time with an “s”) wasn’t just created to confuse our schedules.

Daylight Saving Time Around the World 2012

Daylight saving time in the United States is the practice of setting the clock forward by one hour during the warmer part of the year, so that evenings have more daylight and mornings have less. Most areas of the United States currently observe daylight saving time (DST), the exceptions being Arizona (except for the Navajo Nation, which does observe daylight saving time), Hawaii, and the overseas territories of Puerto Rico, American Samoa, Guam, Northern Mariana Islands, and the United States Virgin Islands.

Daylight Saving time World

Daylight Saving time 2012

Daylight Saving Time ends at 2 a.m. on Sunday, November 4, 2012 in the United States. It will resume in at 2 a.m. on Sunday, March 10, 2013.

Other parts of the world observe Daylight Saving Time as well. While European nations have been taking advantage of the time change for decades, in 1996 the European Union (EU) standardized a EU-wide European Summer Time. This EU version of Daylight Saving Time runs from the last Sunday in March through the last Sunday in October.

In the southern hemisphere, where Summer comes in December, Daylight Saving Time is observed from October to March. Equatorial and tropical countries (lower latitudes) don’t observe Daylight Saving Time since the daylight hours are similar during every season; so there’s no advantage to moving clocks forward during the Summer.

Kyrgyzstan and Iceland are the only countries that observe year-round Daylight Saving Time.

); ga('send', 'pageview');