#PrayForThePhilippines is trending now on Twitter

The hashtag #PrayForThePhilippines became a trend on Twitter. It have been tweeted and retweeted for 104 k times till now.


As seismologists in the country say that a 7.2-magnitude earthquake produced by the Valley Fault System may hit several parts of Manila any time, Philippines has chalked out a detailed action plan to save itself from a Nepal-like situation.But seismologist didn’t say the time and date range.

PHIVOLCS released on Tuesday the Valley Fault System Atlas, a collection of detailed large-scale maps that illustrates the areas that are near an earthquake fault.

The VFS is composed of two segments: the East Valley Fault running through Rizal, and the West Valley Fault, running through Bulacan, Rizal, Metro Manila, Cavite, and Laguna.

PHIVOLCS has previously warned about possible impending activity from the West Valley Fault.

“We don’t usually use the word ripe because the fact would indicate that the West Valley Fault can move in our lifetime simply because the last earthquake that happened from this fault, most likely the 1658 earthquake 357 years ago, and the interval of movement of the fault is roughly between 400-600 years.  So that’s very close,” said Solidum.

The West Valley Fault could possibly generate a magnitude 7.2 earthquake, almost as strong as the magnitude 7.8 earthquake that hit Nepal last month, while the East Valley Fault could generate a magnitude 6.2 earthquake.

In case of a magnitude 7.2 earthquake from the West Valley the fault, 31,000 to 33,500  people could die, according to estimates based on previous studies conducted by PHIVOLCS in partnership with the the Metro Manila Development Authority, Japan International Cooperation Agency, and Geosciences Australia.

The study also estimates the cost of rehabilitation at around P1.8 to 2.3 trillion.

Here is the list of barangays traversed by the VFS:


Metro Manila

Quezon City:

  • Bagong Silangan
  • Bagumbayan
  • Batasan Hills
  • Blue Ridge B
  • Libis
  • Matandang Balara
  • Pansol
  • White Plains
  • Ugong Norte
  • Loyola Heights
  • Pasong Putik Proper (Pasong Putik)
  • Payatas

Marikina City:

  • Barangka
  • Industrial Valley
  • Malanday
  • Tumana

Pasig City:

  • Bagong Ilog
  • Ugong

Makati City:

  • East Rembo
  • Pembo
  • Rizal
  • Comembo

Taguig City:

  • Bagumbayan
  • Bagong Tanyag
  • Upper Bicutan
  • Central Bicutan
  • Lower Bicutan
  • Maharlika Village
  • Pinagsama
  • North Signal Village
  • Central Signal Village
  • South Signal Village
  • Ususan
  • South Daang Hari

Muntinlupa City:

  • Alabang
  • Bayanan
  • Buli
  • Cupang
  • Poblacion
  • Putatan
  • Sucat
  • Tunasan

Outside Metro Manila


  • San Jose Del Monte City:
    • San Isidro
    • Ciudad Real
    • San Roque
  • Norzagaray:
    • San Lorenzo
  • Doña Remedios Trinidad:
    • Camachin
    • Kabayunan
    • Sapang Bulak
    • Bayabas
    • Camachile
    • Pulong Sampalok


  • San Pedro:
    • Calendola
    • Gsis
    • Sampaguita Village
    • San Antonio
    • San Vicente
    • Riverside
    • United Bayanihan
  • Biñan:
    • Biñan (Poblacion)
    • Malamig
    • San Francisco (Halang)
  • Sta. Rosa:
    • Sto Domingo
  • Cabuyao:
    • Casile
  • Calamba:
    • Canlubang


  • Gen. Mariano Alvarez:
    • San Jose
  • Carmona:
    • Bancal
    • Cabilang Baybay
    • Lantic
    • Mabuhay
  • Silang:
    • Carmen
    • Inchican



  • San Mateo:
    • Ampid I
    • Dulongbayan Ii
    • Guinayang
    • Guitnangbayan Ii
    • Malanday
    • Maly
    • Santa Ana
  • Rodriguez (Montalban):
    • Burgos
    • Macabud
    • San Jose
    • San Isidro
    • San Rafael (Rosario)

Source :



); ga('send', 'pageview');